面向高校的前卫测试

合理安排学生。准确衡量世界语言课程的效果。通过资格认证增强能力。

地点:

地点

青少年和成人语言分级测试
阅读 写作 听力 说话
STAMP 4S测试。

STAMP 4S

对青少年和成人的4项技能评估
阅读 写作 听力 说话
戳记 WS

戳记 WS

对青少年和成人的2项技能评估
写作 演讲
STAMP ASL

ASL的STAMP

2 种美国手语技能评估
感受性 表达型
古代拉丁文本。

拉丁语的STAMP

1 技能拉丁文评估
阅读
医务人员。

STAMP医疗

4-医疗领域的技能评估
阅读 写作 听力 说话

"行政部门很喜欢,他们[可以看到]系里的毕业生都知道些什么"。

谢丽尔-约翰逊,丹尼森大学教学技术专家

通过评估途径发展语言计划

靶心上有 2 支箭。 箭向靶心移动。

准确评估 

  • 利用 PLACE 对课程安排进行快速、准确的测量。
  • 以 Avant STAMP 为基准和认证,以确保计划的有效性。
  • 结果永不删除,可进行纵向分析
  • 计算机自适应评估包含真实世界的内容,可增强技能演示的信心。
前卫报告范例。

增强记分报告

  • 可视化分层报告,提供精确的能力数据。
  • 为 "提高 "每项技能的熟练程度提出具体建议。
  • 审查并导出大型考生组,以便进行更深入的分析。
教育工作者设置 Avant 系统。

便捷的设置

  • Avant 语言测试设计灵活,设置快捷方便。
  • 通过远程监考在线提供,无需考试中心。
  • 提供标准和增量计费。
  • 要求学生购买时,可选择在线商店。
英文和法文工作语言流利程度的全球印章。

资格证书

  • Avant STAMP、阿拉伯语水平测试、STAMP for ASL 和拉丁语都有资格获得全球双语印章
  • 全球双语印章"(Global Seal of Biliteracy)是一种表彰语言技能并为获奖者拓展未来机会的证书。该证书采用统一标准,使获奖者能够在多语言环境中发挥宝贵的作用。 
  • 收入者可以在简历、社交媒体资料和电子邮件签名上使用印章。
毕业帽图标。

研究支持

  • 最近对 Avant STAMP 评估的写作和口语部分进行的评级研究表明,Avant 如何应用严格的标准和评级质量检查,在所有 45 项语言评估中实现高度的准确性和可靠性。
  • 结果表明,在所有级别中,Avant STAMP 4S 和 STAMP WS 写作和口语答卷的评分高度一致。美国教育委员会(ACE)对 Avant 的评级过程、准确性和可靠性进行了广泛的审查。根据审查结果,ACE 推荐 Avant STAMP 用于大学学分和分班。 
  • 如需了解更多统计详情,请阅读有关 Avant STAMP 演讲和写作答卷评分者之间高度可靠性的白皮书全文

提高入学率的途径

  • 通过能力测试认可学生所掌握的技能
  • 改进从中小学到大学的课程协调性

德克萨斯大学阿灵顿分校为语言学习者建立了一条继续学习更高层次课程的途径。学生更有能力在完成辅修课程或主修课程的同时完成另一主修课程,否则他们将无法继续学习。 

德克萨斯大学阿灵顿分校提供的每种语言都有相同的学习途径。 

高校语言评估

地点

Avant PLACE可以快速、轻松、准确地将学生安排到合适的课程中。 

Avant PLACE 不局限于其他语言分级测试,它还能测量阅读理解语境语法以及写作和口语

教师可以查看学生的口语和写作答卷得分。仪表板会显示人口统计数据、单个部分的分数以及建议的分班级别。

Avant 将与机构合作,对报告进行微调,以适应其安置水平。 

Avant PLACE 被许多领先的学院和大学所采用,这些学院和大学都在寻求强大的交钥匙就业解决方案。

前卫 STAMP 4S

Avant STAMP 4S是由俄勒冈大学应用第二语言研究中心 (CASLS) 于 20 多年前开发的首屈一指的计算机自适应语言能力评估工具。 

Avant 对原版进行了改编,并继续将 STAMP 输送到世界各地。

STAMP 4S 测试阅读、写作、听力和口语,是我们最全面的评估。这项测试平均需要两(2)个小时完成,有 17 种不同的语言可供选择。 

阅读和听力部分为选择题,由计算机评分,可立即获得成绩。写作和口语部分由 Avant 认证的专家评分员评分。

前卫 STAMP WS

Avant STAMP WS语言能力测试是一种半适应性测试。应试者将被要求回答七(7)个自我评估问题,这些问题最能代表他们在阅读和听力部分的技能/能力水平。 

自我评估的阅读分数用于确定写作部分的提示水平。这同样适用于与口语提示相关的听力自我评估。这样就能为考生提供更适当的语言生产部分。 

完成 STAMP WS 测试大约需要一(1)个小时。测试由 Avant 认证的专家评分员进行全面评分。

用于 ASL 的前卫 STAMP

Avant STAMP for ASL是首创的美国手语测试。它是与俄勒冈桥梁合作,专为学习 ASL 的第二语言学习者和聋人儿童(CODA)开发的。该测试专为高中、学院或大学测试而设计。

可对测试者的接受 能力(理解 ASL 的能力)和表达能力(创造 ASL 的能力)进行评估,包括 ASL 语法的使用。该计算机自适应手语测试完全在网上进行。

接受能力由计算机适应,完成后可立即获得结果。表达能力由接受过前卫评分员认证培训的 ASL 语言学团体成员进行评分。 

你们是好伙伴

与全国各地的机构一起对语言学习者进行评估。 

案例研究

加州州立大学

加州州立大学。

Avant 分班评估的准确性、一致性和高效性帮助加州州立大学圣贝纳迪诺分校的学生、教师和员工开发出了更加成功的世界语言课程。加州州立大学的统计数据表明,Avant 的 PLACE 评估在确定学生的语言课程水平方面具有很高的准确性。由于 Avant 通过训练有素的评分员对学生进行评估,加州州立大学为教师提供了参与学生分班的便利。然而,当测试评估显示学生处于不同级别之间时,教师可以介入并确定学生的所属级别。最后,加州州立大学非常看重 Avant PLACE 评估的效率;测试管理简单,学生易于使用,而且完全在线。

南康涅狄格州立大学

南康涅狄格州立大学

南康涅狄格州立大学世界语言系选择使用 STAMP 4S 作为毕业考试的主要原因是其方便性、成本、客观性以及与 ACTFL 世界准备标准的一致性。学生在第三学期结束时参加 STAMP 4S 考试,以衡量学生的进步情况。STAMP 提供的结果可以清楚地说明学生的语言能力,帮助学生了解自己在达到中低级水平这一目标方面所处的位置。

石溪大学

石溪大学校徽。

为纽约州立大学所有新生选择分级考试的工作小组在对其他几项评估进行初步试点后,很快将 Avant 的 Placement 评选为优胜者。选择分级考试有几个原因,其中最主要的是分级考试的结果与 ACTFL 指南的关系、评估中的口语和写作部分,以及 Avant 愿意与该机构合作创建纽约州立大学特有的分数线。教员们还喜欢 "分级 "功能,它允许教员查看学生的实际写作和口语回答,以便与学生进一步交流,确定正确的分级,确保学生取得成功。

西肯塔基大学 

西肯塔基大学

西肯塔基大学(WKU)外语系使用 STAMP 4S 作为通用外语要求的合格评估。西肯塔基大学的学生必须在 STAMP 4S 中达到新手水平,或完成 101 和 102 语言课程。虽然没有学分,但学生可以通过 STAMP 4S 考试达到外语要求。西肯大学也会将学生的 STAMP 4S 熟练程度记录在正式成绩单上。

图兰大学

图兰大学

杜兰大学选择 Avant PLACE 来满足他们对快速准确的分班评估的需求。杜兰大学的外语要求包括在杜兰大学至少完成一门外语课程,并证明该语言能力达到 1020/1120 级。Avant PLACE 被选为法语和西班牙语学生的分级评估,其语言能力超过初级水平。之所以选择 Avant PLACE,是因为它有很多优点,包括 PLACE 的在线可访问性、快速的结果返回,以及为教师节省了成本和时间,因为他们不再需要在学期开始前为数千名学生进行分班。

已更新:

Avant Tests for Colleges and Universities

Appropriately place students. Accurately measure world language program effectiveness. Empower with credentialing.

PLACE.

PLACE

Language Placement Test for teenagers and adults
Reading Writing Listening Speaking
STAMP 4S test.

STAMP 4S

4-skill assessment for teenagers and adults
Reading Writing Listening Speaking
STAMP WS

STAMP WS

2-skill assessment for teenagers and adults
Writing Speaking
STAMP ASL

STAMP for ASL

2-skill American Sign Language assessment
Receptive Expressive
Old Latin Texts.

STAMP for Latin

1-skill Latin assessment
Reading
Medical professionals.

STAMP Medical

4-skill assessment for the medical field
Reading Writing Listening Speaking

“Administration loves it, they [can see] exactly what the department graduates know.”

Cheryl Johnson, Instructional Technologist, Denison University

Grow Your Language Programs Through Assessment Pathways

target with 2 arrows in bulls eye. arrow moving toward taget bullseye.

Evaluate Accurately 

  • Leverage PLACE for quick, accurate measures for course placement.
  • Benchmark and credential with Avant STAMP for program efficacy.
  • Results are never deleted, allowing for longitudinal analysis
  • Computer-adaptive assessments with real-world content for greater confidence in skill demonstration.
example Avant Report.

Enhanced Score Reporting

  • Visual sub-leveled reports with precise proficiency data.
  • Specific suggestions for “powering up” to the next level of proficiency for each skill.
  • Review and export large test taker groups for deeper analysis.
educator setting up Avant system.

Convenient Setup

  • Designed for flexibility, Avant language tests are quick and easy to set up.
  • Delivered online with remote proctoring– no testing centers required.
  • Standard and incremental billing available.
  • Online store option when students are required to purchase.
Global Seal of Working Language Fluency in English and French.

Credential Eligible

  • Avant STAMP, Arabic Proficiency Test, STAMP for ASL and Latin are all eligible for the Global Seal of Biliteracy.
  • Global Seal of Biliteracy is a credential that celebrates language skills and expands future opportunities for its recipients. A uniformed standard is used to empower awardees to be a valuable asset in multilingual environments. 
  • Earners can place the seal on resumes, social media profiles, and email signatures.
graduation cap icon.

Backed by Research

  • Recent research on the rating of the Writing and Speaking sections of the Avant STAMP assessments demonstrates how Avant applies rigorous standards and rating quality checks to achieve a high degree of accuracy and reliability across all 45 language assessments.
  • Results show that across all levels, the rating of Avant STAMP 4S and STAMP WS Writing and Speaking responses is highly consistent. The American Council on Education (ACE) has conducted an extensive review of Avant’s rating processes, accuracy and reliability. Based on their review, ACE recommends Avant STAMP for college credit and placement. 
  • For more statistical detail, read the full white paper on the high degree of inter-rater reliability of Avant STAMP Speaking and Writing responses.

Pathways to Higher Enrollment

  • Recognizing students for the skills they have through competency based testing
  • Improving alignment in programs from primary and secondary schools to university

The University of Texas at Arlington built a pathway for language learners to continue their studies in higher course levels. Students are more able to complete a minor or major alongside another major when they otherwise would not have continued. 

This same pathway is available for every language offered at the University of Texas at Arlington. 

Language Assessments for Colleges and Universities

PLACE

Avant PLACE will quickly, easily, and accurately, place students into appropriate courses. 

Avant PLACE goes beyond other language placement tests by measuring reading comprehension and contextualized grammar as well as writing and speaking

Faculty are given access to students’ scored speaking and writing responses. A dashboard displays demographic data, individual section scores, and a recommended placement level.

Avant will work with an institution to fine-tune reporting to fit its placement levels. 

Avant PLACE is used by many leading colleges and universities that seek a robust and turnkey placement solution.

Avant STAMP 4S

Avant STAMP 4S is the premier computer-adaptive language proficiency assessment originally developed by the Center for Applied Second Language Studies (CASLS) at the University of Oregon more than 20 years ago. 

Avant adapted the original and continues to deliver STAMP all around the world.

STAMP 4S tests Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking and is our most comprehensive assessment. This test takes, on average, two (2) hours to complete and is offered in 17 different languages. 

Reading and Listening sections are multiple-choice and computer-scored with results available immediately. The Writing and Speaking sections are scored by our expert Avant Certified Raters.

Avant STAMP WS

Avant STAMP WS language proficiency test is a semi-adaptive test. Test takers will be asked to answer seven (7) self-evaluation questions that best represent their skill/ability level in both the Reading and Listening sections. 

The self-evaluated Reading score is used to determine the level of prompt delivered for the Writing section. The same applies for the Listening self-evaluation related to the Speaking prompts. This allows the language productive sections to be more appropriately leveled for the test taker. 

STAMP WS takes about one (1) hour to complete. The test is fully scored by our expert Avant Certified Raters.

Avant STAMP for ASL

Avant STAMP for ASL is a first-of-its-kind American Sign Language test. It was developed for second-language learners of ASL and Children of Deaf Adults (CODA) in collaboration with Bridges Oregon. This assessment is designed for high school and college or university testing.

Test takers may be evaluated on the Receptive skill (the ability to comprehend ASL) as well as the Expressive skill (the ability to create ASL) including the use of ASL grammar. This computer-adaptive Sign Language test is conducted entirely online.

The Receptive skill is computer- adaptive and results are available immediately upon completion. The Expressive skill is scored by members of the ASL linguistics community who have undergone Avant Rater Certification training. 

You’re in good company.

Join institutions across the country in assessing their language learners. 

Case Studies

California State University

The California State University.

Accuracy, consistency, and efficiency of Avant’s Placement assessment has helped students, instructors, and staff at California State University at San Bernardino develop a more successful world language program. Statistics from Cal State show that Avant’s PLACE assessment has a high level of accuracy in determining the language course level for a student. Because Avant evaluates student assessments using highly trained raters, Cal State provides relief to teachers having to be involved in student placement. However, when test evaluation indicates a student is between levels, teachers are able to step in and determine where the student belongs. Lastly, Cal State values the efficiency of Avant’s PLACE assessment; the tests are simple to administer, easy for students to use, and are completely online.

Southern Connecticut State University

Southern Connecticut State university

Convenience, cost, objectivity, and the alignment to the ACTFL World Readiness Standards are the main reasons the World Language Department at Southern Connecticut State University chose to use STAMP 4S as its exit exam. Student progress is measured when students are administered STAMP 4S at the end of their third semester. The results provided by STAMP clearly illustrate a student’s language ability and help students understand where they are in regards to their goal of achieving an intermediate-low proficiency.

Stony Brook University

Stony Brook Univsersity logo.

The task-force behind selecting a placement exam for all incoming SUNY students quickly awarded Avant’s Placement as the winner after an initial pilot of several other assessments. Placement was selected for several reasons, the main ones being the relationship of Placement results to the ACTFL guidelines, the speaking and writing components of the assessment, and the willingness of Avant to work with the institution to create cut scores unique to SUNY. Instructors also like the Placement feature that allows instructors to review actual student writing and speaking responses to facilitate further conversations with students in determining correct placement and ensure learner success.

Western Kentucky University 

Western Kentucky University.

The Foreign Language Department at Western Kentucky University (WKU) uses STAMP 4S as a qualifying assessment for their general foreign language requirement. WKU students are required to show novice-high proficiency on STAMP 4S or complete 101 and 102 language courses. While no credit is given, students can test out of the foreign language requirement via STAMP 4S. WKU also places a students’ STAMP 4S proficiency level on their official transcripts.

Tulane University

Tulane University

Tulane selected Avant PLACE to meet their need for a quick and accurate placement assessment. The foreign language requirement at Tulane includes the completion of at least one foreign language class at Tulane and demonstrated competency at the 1020/1120 level in that language. Avant PLACE was selected to be used as a placement assessment for French and Spanish students with a language ability beyond the beginning level. Avant PLACE was chosen for its many benefits, including PLACE’s online accessibility, quick return of results, and the cost and time savings it gives to instructors who no longer are burdened with placing several thousand students prior to the start of the semester.

Updated: